My Suite Vacation in the Biggest Little City: Circus Circus Style

This weekend was a bit crazy for me, what about anyone else? We celebrated the “Tutu Rose Maiki Gilman’s 60th Family Reunion,” hosted by none other than my mommy – good job Ma by the way. Got here Friday afternoon and it’s been nonstop ever since. I am squeezing in some downtime as my son is napping – keep your fingers crossed it lasts longer than an hour.

The last few days has got me thinking. Many people have complained to me that they just can’t afford to do vacations with their families because it’s too expensive or they don’t have the time to take a week off and go jet setting to somewhere new. Well, if there’s a will there’s a way folks. Never a time like the present to check out what is happening in your city! While I’m only 30 minutes away from home, I can say this was a pleasant vacation for my family and me. We got a suite at the Circus Circus because my mom was hosting, and we got to explore a bit while not working on the reunion festivities.

I’d like to encourage you, if you’re needing a break from home or want to do a vacation but can’t seem to get a big enough budget for say Disneyland, then how about looking to what the cities around you have to offer! This weekend a few of the highlights are most definitely Flavors! the buffet at the Silver Legacy (which, okay, yes going to a seafood buffet is not cheap but because I planned for this day I was able to save, making it a well worth it event), visiting the Terry Lee Wells Discovery museum (which was not planned but we got a 2-for-1 admission ticket at check-in, SCORE!), watching my son freak out at the midway (which, again, in our wonderful booklet from check-in, we got tons of coupons for 2-for-1 games),mini circus roundup playing my FREE slot play which is the only time I really gamble (if you’re not, go sign up for a free card to get money to gamble and possibly gain entry into their free slot tournaments – did my first one today – arm is still numb) and getting free drinks at the machines (okay not free FREE because you still need to tip people – don’t get stingy Mingy on me). Oh yea, and of course seeing my wonderful family – saved the best for last. Wink! Wink!

My point is, utilize what is around you in order to get the best bang for your buck even when searching for vacation ideas. We can’t always escape to the Bahamas but we can escape somewhere. If all else fails, it’ll be 5 o’clock soon. 😉 Most hotels in your area will most likely have some sort of coupon booklet or deal going on for other places to check out. Use them! Don’t be like someone I know – mom! – and wait until the LAST day of the vacation to open your booklet up and pout at what you “could have” saved. Take advantage of what is offered even if it’s something that you may not have originally planned to do. When it comes to saving time and money in order to go after what’s important, you have to be willing to wiggle a bit.

& now I’m off to snooze real quick before dinner, yes, all we do is eat, no judging allowed!  Please share with me if you have any tips for vacationing close to home as well, I figure, if people are coming to visit there MUST be something here worth checking out! Go and explore! (oh man, now the Dora the Explorer theme song is in my head…great!)

Leave a Reply

