This Is Our Fate – Breakfast – I’m Yours

Forty minutes until midnight on a Friday and I’m snuggled in bed thinking about what to eat for breakfast tomorrow. Goodness how times have changed. Three years ago around 11:30PM I was probably ready to head out with my girls. Nowadays, I’m thinking about food. Great! I’ll blame these late night thoughts on baby #2 right now.

Weekends in my house have taken a complete 180 degree turn. We used to wake up on Saturdays and head over to Ihop and order one of their signature favorites, do some unnecessary shopping, grab some Starbucks and head home! Not so much anymore. For just the 3 of us we’d always spend around $30, uhm no thanks! For us, eating out is really a guilty pleasure these days. What about for you?

Because of that, fate has decided that I needed to learn that cooking at home is much more friendly to our health and our wallet – although, I do miss you my buttermilk shortstack and cappuccino! Sighs…recently I came across a recipe for Blueberry-Oatmeal-Pancakes-blueberry oatmeal pancackes at 5dollardinners.com and I am about 99.9% positive that’s what we’re eating in the morning. Or at least what I’m eating when I get off this computer…It incorporates the blueberries I got on sale at Savemart yesterday, plus it only takes a few pantry staples that I already have on hand. Plus, apparently they freeze really well so large batch making – don’t mind if I do!

[Side note:  if you haven’t checked out 5dollardinners.com you should totally do it! I am officially addicted to that site. Erin Chase @fivedollardinners has totally helped me on my journey of spending more time and less money in regards to eating! Check her out!]

Usually for us, breakfast during the week is pretty much the same:  eggs, spinach, and toast or oatmeal and fruit. Because that can get BORING super fast, I think it’s good to cook on the weekends a “fancy” breakfast that we can all enjoy as a family. Don’t you think it’s important to at least have that? I can’t wait for the day when Kalani can start helping in the kitchen. Like really helping! Now he gets the milk out and carries the eggs to the counter (of course with the occasional crash, splatter, uh-oh but that’s okay, I’ve become a master at cleaning up cracked eggs).

One day I want to try and make homemade cinnamon rolls..drools! Seems to complicated to me though but like I said, one day! Please share what some of your favorite breakfast recipes/tradtiions are that your family values!

Blueberry pancakes for breakfast = I’m yours

photo source: 5dollardinners

 

 

Leave a Reply

